Navigation Council - West Hawai’i

Hōkūpaʻa Founders

The founding members of the Navigation Council, in alphabetical order, created the first conversations that resulted in the formation of Hōkūpaʻa, and we are grateful for their wisdom and vision.

John DeFries, (former) Director, Hawaiʻi County R&D

Kaeo Durate, Kamehameha Schools

Karen Eoff, County Council, Director 8

Marty Fletcher, Palamanui; UH Center-West Hawaiʻi

David Hipp, (former) Director, State Office of Youth Services

Dru Kanuha and Jane Clement, (former) County Council, District 7

Capt. Paul Kealoha, Hawaiʻi Police Department (retired)

Wally Lau, (former) Hawaiʻi County Managing Director

Jamee Miller, PhD, Kamehameha Schools

Cathy Okumura (former), Queen Liliʻuokalani Children’s Center

Dale Ross, First Deputy Prosecuting Attorney, Hawaiʻi County

Mitch Roth, Prosecuting Attorney, Hawaiʻi County

Art Souza, Department of Education

Don Straney, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo


2019 Navigation Council Members

Kaimana Bacarse, Kamehameha Schools

Kalei Haleamau-Kam, Hawaiʻi Community College - Pālamanui

Wally Lau, Community

Susan Maddox, Friends of the Future

Gale Meija, The Learning Coalition

Mitch Roth, Prosecuting Attorney, Hawaiʻi County

Marcia Sakai, University of Hawaii at Hilo

Art Souza, Department of Education

Richard Taaffe, West Hawaiʻi Community Health Center